Parks

 “The most heroic word in all languages is revolution.” — Eugene V. Debs.

20160723_151424

A boy and his dog.

I was at the store the other day, buying a bottle of wine. It seems like they ask for your ID everywhere you go around here, which makes sense for a college town. I was prepared. I had my ID in hand, at the ready. The young clerk looked at me when I handed it to him and he said, “You don’t look THAT young.” Ouch.

So, I realized something when I was hanging out with my new, younger friends yesterday. (Woot, woot! I have friends! By the way, I went to a drag show in Arcata on Friday.) Anyway, we were walking through the redwood forest and they started making all these references to things I didn’t get. Movies I’ve never seen and only  knew as something younger kids watched. Music I’ve never heard, which sounded strange and foreign to me. They had connections to each other that I couldn’t comprehend because I wasn’t “there”, so to speak.

That’s it, Millennials. The next generation has arrived. Your time is nigh. It’s a good thing. I promise.

Standard

Leave a Reply

